JEAN PROULX

Attorney, Partner

Me Proulx started in the legal profession by establishing his own practice as a notary in Montréal. His clientele was primarily composed of financial institutions and business firms. In 1985, he resumed his studies with the Québec Bar and, since 1986, has been practicing commercial, real estate and corporate law. He has been a counselor and negotiator in the fields of financing, property acquisitions and dispositions, business law, corporate law and financial restructuring. He is also involved in other fields of law, namely, construction, real estate development and retirement residence management.

His career has led him to work with various levels of people in the business world and in-house counsel from a wide range of organizations. He has drafted or commented on a number of instruction and work manuals used by the officers and employees of these organizations.

Me Proulx has been a guest lecturer at the Faculty of Law of the University of Montréal and the Continuing Legal Education Service of the Québec Bar for lawyers practicing in Québec since the enactment of the new Civil Code in 1994. In 1998, he sat on a Québec Bar Committee established to organize a conference with the International Lawyers’ Union (the “UIA”). He has spoken at UIA conferences in Nice and Seville. He has also been invited by a major financial institution as a keynote speaker as part of the continuing education of its management team. He is currently a member of the board of several non-profit organizations and the UIA and is also a director of the Canadian National Committee of such international association.

Admission to the Quebec Bar

1977

Phone

514 879-4600

Fax

514 879-4659

Email

jproulx@gascon.ca

JEAN PROULX

Avocat, associé

Me Proulx a d’abord fondé sa propre étude de notaires à Montréal et pratiqué principalement en conseillant des institutions financières et commerciales. En 1985, il a repris ses études au Barreau du Québec et depuis 1986, il pratique en droit commercial, immobilier et corporatif. Me Proulx agit principalement comme conseiller et négociateur dans les domaines du financement, de l’acquisition et la vente d’actifs immobiliers, du droit des affaires, du droit corporatif et de la restructuration financière. Il est également impliqué dans divers autres champs de pratique tels que la construction, le développement immobilier et la gestion de résidences pour personnes retraitées.

Son expérience lui a permis de travailler avec différentes personnes du milieu des affaires et avec les conseillers juridiques internes de nombreuses entreprises. Il a rédigé ou commenté plusieurs manuels d’instructions ou de travail utilisés par les directeurs et les employés de celles-ci.

Me Proulx a été conférencier invité à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Montréal et à la Formation permanente du Barreau du Québec, pour les avocats exerçant au Québec depuis l’entrée en vigueur du nouveau Code civil du Québec en 1994. En 1998, il a été membre d’un comité du Barreau du Québec mandaté pour préparer une conférence en collaboration avec l’Union internationale des avocats. Il est conférencier au congrès de cette association internationale, notamment, à Nice et à Séville. Il a également été conférencier invité par une importante institution financière dans le cadre de la formation continue de ses dirigeants. Il est membre du conseil d’administration de plusieurs organismes sans but lucratif et de l’Union Internationale des Avocats, ainsi qu’administrateur du Comité national canadien de cette association internationale.

Admission au Barreau du Québec

1977

Téléphone

514 879-4600

Télécopieur

514 879-4659

Courriel

jproulx@gascon.ca