JON MECHANIC

Attorney

Jon Mechanic’s practice focuses on all aspects of entertainment law. He represents producers in the development, financing, production and distribution of film and television projects, as well as visual effects and animation companies. He also represents lenders active in the entertainment industry.

Jon Mechanic earned his LL.M. from UCLA School of Law, where he was awarded the Masin Family Award for Academic Excellence in Motion Picture Financing Transactions and graduated in the top 10% of his class. Prior thereto, he earned his LL. B. and B.C.L. from McGill University Faculty of Law, where he was awarded a J. W. McConnell Scholarship.

Prior to joining the firm, Jon Mechanic gained diverse experience practicing at a prominent Vancouver-based boutique entertainment law firm, and preceding that, at the Montréal office of an international law firm, where his practice focused on the financing of films and television programs, including American, Canadian, and UK projects, as well as international co-productions. In addition, he also worked in the business and legal affairs department of a prominent Los Angeles production company.

Jon co-created and participated in a podcast series entitled “Show Me the Money! —Film Financing” and has co-presented a Barreau du Québec conference entitled “Techtainment – La convergence entre la technologie et le divertissement”.

Active in the community, he has held various leadership positions within community organizations, and currently chairs the Shaar Hashomayim Young Professionals Committee.

Admission to the Quebec Bar

2013

Admission to the British Columbia Bar

2017

Phone

514 879-5606
Cell : 514 715-7961

Fax

514 879-4659

Email

jmechanic@gascon.ca

JON MECHANIC

Avocat

Me Mechanic concentre sa pratique dans tous les aspects du droit du divertissement. Il représente des producteurs dans le développement, le financement, la production et la distribution de films et de projets télévisuels, ainsi que les sociétés d’effets visuels et d’animation. Il représente aussi les investisseurs actifs dans l’industrie du divertissement.

Me Mechanic a obtenu sa maîtrise de l’UCLA School of Law, où il a reçu le prix Masin Family Award for Academic Excellence in Motion Picture Financing Transactions. Il a également obtenu un double diplôme en droit civil et en common law de l’Université McGill où il a obtenu la bourse J.W. McConnell Scholarship.

Avant de se joindre au cabinet, Me Mechanic a acquis une expérience diversifiée pratiquant dans un important cabinet boutique en droit du divertissement situé à Vancouver et avant cela, à Montréal dans un cabinet d’avocats international, où ses activités étaient axées sur le financement de films et d’émissions télévisées, y compris des projets américains, canadiens et britanniques, mais aussi des coproductions internationales. Il a également travaillé dans le département des affaires juridiques et commerciales d’une importante société de production à Los Angeles.

Actif dans la communauté, il a occupé divers postes de direction au sein d’organismes communautaires et siège actuellement au Shaar Hashomayim Young Professionals Committee, un comité de jeunes professionnels.

Admission au Barreau du Québec

2013

Admission au Barreau de la Colombie-Britannique

2017

Téléphone

514 879-5606
Cell : 514 715-7961

Télécopieur

514 879-4659

Courriel

jmechanic@gascon.ca